Enter one or more keywords

President Trump Re-Nominates Two for EEOC Slots


Janet Dhillon re-nominated for Commission spot and Sharon Fast Gustafson re-nominated for General Counsel position

President Trump has re-nominated Janet Dhillon to be a member of the Commission for a term expiring on July 1, 2022.  If confirmed, she will replace former Chair Jenny R. Yang.  According to Dhillon’s LinkedIn profile, she most recently served as General Counsel of Burlington Stores, Inc. until July 2017 and held similar roles at three Fortune 500 companies in the past.  She also practiced private law at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP for 13 years.   See previous OutSolve blog on the original nomination for Janet Dhillon.

Sharon Fast Gustafson was also re-nominated by the President to fill EEOC’s General Counsel position for four-year term.  Gustafson would replace P. David Lopez, who resigned at the end of 2016.  Gustafson is known for being the counsel for Peggy Young in the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2014 ruling in Young v. United Parcel Service.  The case involved light duty policies and pregnancy employees.   She practices at Jones Day for four years in the labor and employment group prior to starting a solo practice in 1996.  For 26 years, she practices before the EEOC and federal courts in an assortment of employment-related cases.  

The foregoing has been prepared for the general information of clients and friends of Workplace Dynamics LLC and is not being represented as being all-inclusive or complete. It has been abridged from legislation, administrative ruling, agency directives, and other information provided by the government. It is not meant to provide legal advice with respect to any specific matter and should not be acted upon without professional counsel.