Enter one or more keywords

Jocelyn Samuels Confirmed by Senate as EEOC Commissioner


Samuels will serve for another two year term on the bi-partisan Commission

Last week, the Senate voted to confirm Samuels, by a vote of 52-47, to serve a second term as a Commissioner to EEOC.  Samuels was originally nominated by President Trump on March 16, 2020 and subsequently confirmed on September 23, 2020 to serve as Commissioner for a term expiring on July 1, 2021.   President Biden named Samuels Vice Chair on January 20, 2021 and nominated her for a second term on April 12, 2021.  She was voted favorable (14-8) out of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee on May 12, 2021.

Samuels will serve as Vice Chair, along with Chair Charlotte A. Burrows, Commissioner Janet Dhillon, Commissioner Keith E. Sonderling, and Commissioner Andrea R. Lucas.  

The foregoing has been prepared for the general information of clients and friends of Workplace Dynamics LLC and is not being represented as being all-inclusive or complete. It has been abridged from legislation, administrative ruling, agency directives, and other information provided by the government. It is not meant to provide legal advice with respect to any specific matter and should not be acted upon without professional counsel.